No. 21

March 01, 2015

The metal supergroup Adrenaline Mob have released their fourth album titled Dearly Departed, a collection of classic cover songs following the likes of their album Coverta in 2013. This marks the groups second album of cover songs to go along with their two studio albums Omerta (2012) and Men of Honor (2014). The band consists of original members Russell Allen - vocals, known from his work as singer for the progressive metal band Symphony X, and Mike Orlando - guitars, known for his work with Zakk Wylde and Bumblefoot, as well as being Guitar Player magazine’s Guitar Superstar of the Year in 2008. The group has had several members who have come and gone, most notably drummer Mike Portnoy from Dream Theater who began as the orignal drummer then left in 2013, replaced by drummer A.J. Pero from Twisted Sister who presently remains a member of the group. Rich Ward was second guitarist from 2011-2012 and there have been a series of bass players in Paul Di Leo (2011-2012), John Moyer (2012-2014), and present bassist Erik Leonhardt.

Dearly Departed is a collection of classic cover songs, the most unusual choice being the Charlie Daniel's Band country song ‘The Devil Went Down To Georgia’. The band also covers Pat Travers’ ‘Snortin Whiskey’, Queen‘s ‘Tie Your Mother Down’, along with a medley of Black Sabbath songs. The album also includes acoustic versions of songs from previous Adrenaline Mob releases along with the previously unreleased song ‘Whatever Gets You Through the Night’, taken from the ‘Men of Honor’ studio sessions.

Track Listing :

1- Snortin’ Whiskey (Pat Travers)
2- Dearly Departed (Edited version of Men of Honor track)
3- The Devil Went Down to Georgia (Charlie Daniels Band)
4- Crystal Clear (Acoustic version of Men of Honor track)
5- Sabbath Medley (Black Sabbath)
6- Whatever Gets You Through The Night (Unreleased from Men of Honor sessions)
7- Angel Sky (Acoustic version of Omerta track)
8- All on the Line (Acoustic version of Omerta track)
9- Tie Your Mother Down (Queen)

In a recent interview, frontman Russell Allen talked about the album: “We wanted to let people know we were still committed and the new release is a statement that we want to keep this going. The covers thing is something that we enjoy doing. Some of the covers are obviously very unique for our band, (laughs) and we have a lot of fun tweaking songs that you’ve probably heard before and making them our own. We didn’t want to do a complete covers thing though because we didn’t want to let go of some of the ‘Men of Honor’ stuff.”Adrenaline Mob have a couple of live shows coming up. They’ll be in Amityville, N.Y. on April 18 and in Philadelphia April 19 along with a USO benefit show May 1 in Jamaica, N.Y. For all their tour dates, visit their website.

Visit Adrenaline Mob's Website

Site Designed by Web Solutions Network, a division of Maryland Wireless Networks. © 2008.