No. 7

October 01, 2013

Arch/Matheos - Sympathetic Resonance (Metal Blade) ....

Several original members of Fates Warning released a collaboration project called Arch/Matheos. This one slipped past me being releases well over a year ago. The group consists of Jim Matheos (guitars); John Arch (vocals); Bobby Jarzombek (drums); Joey Vera (bass); and Frank Aresti (additional guitar solos). The groups first release titled Symphonic Resonance contains only six songs, but times in at a full-length of 55 minutes with "'Neurotically Wired", "Midnight Serenade", "Stained Glass Sky", "On The Fence", "Any Given Day", and "Incense and Myrrh". While Matheos had contributed to Arch's 2003 solo album, this is the first time the two have collaborated on a whole album since their famed 1986 Fates Warning album Awaken the Guardian. Arch/Matheos attempts to recapture the glory of early Fates Warning and comes close to fulfilling that goal, despite having its parts which are very Dream Theater-ish, and sounding like an extension of Arch's first solo album. Matheos delivers a great performance on these songs, interweaved with intricate drum parts, and Arch''s original signature vocal style built upon interesting lyrical patterns. There are some exceptional transitions and break-downs in these songs. Anyone who is a fan of early Fates Warning will enjoy this album !

Ghost of War - Only Death Is Real (Self-released) ....

Ghost of War is a heavy metal band based out of Gettysburg Pennsylvania. The band was formed in 2009 by Thane Farace (guitars) & Ronnie Peterson (vocals), with Gary Daniels (bass guitar) and Jim Mathis (drums). Their debut CD "Only Death Is Real" was released on Sept. 22, 2012 containing 11 tracks, including 2 cover tunes : the Arthur Brown classic "Fire" and Grand Funk Railroads world renowned, epic tale of touring musicians out on the road "We're An American Band". Most recently the band won the Quiet Riot battle of the bands in Philadelphia Pa, with drummer Frankie Banali being the deciding vote to give them the big win. Ghost of War is nationally sponsored by Jagermeister. The band describes themselves in comparison with Anthrax, Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Van Halen, and Dream Theater, and while true, you can also hear the heavy influence of Metal Church, as well as the influence of bands such as Metallica and Fates Warning in these songs. I really enjoyed the song "Beautiful Lies", which has a great arrangement, and "Only Death Is Real" which hammers it out. The band is tight and the vocals are great. If you're into metal, you will like Ghost of War. Check them out.

Listen to Ghost of War

Adrenaline Mob - Coverta (Century Media) ....

Adrenaline Mob released their second album earlier this year, this time an album of cover songs titled Coverta. Adrenaline Mob are comprised of drummer Mike Portnoy (ex-Dream Theater, ex-Avenged Sevenfold), singer Russell Allen (Symphony X), guitarist Mike Orlando (TRED) and bassist John Moyer (Disturbed). The band covers some classic rock and metal with Dio‘s ‘Stand Up and Shout,’ Rainbow‘s ‘Kill the King’, Black Sabbath‘s ‘The Mob Rules', Badlands’ ‘High Wire,’ the Doors‘ ‘Break on Through,’ Van Halen‘s ‘Romeo Delight,’ Heart‘s ‘Barracuda’ and Led Zeppelin‘s ‘The Lemon Song.’ It is notable to mention that Russell Allen delivers a great performance on these songs. His renditions of Ronnie James Dio are haunting, capturing the style and tone of the legendary singer. The group takes Heart's "Barracuda" and deliver it as roaring metal, topped with a really great vocal performance by Russell Allen. The bands renditions of Zeppelin and the Doors, however leave much room for questioning poor choice in song. Neither does justice to the original and giving them a metal spin, wasn't very flattering. The production of the album sounds great and overall it is worth a listen. It will give you a reason to want to hear their first album Omerta, which is all original material.

Site Designed by Web Solutions Network, a division of Maryland Wireless Networks. © 2008.