No. 13

June 01, 2014

Misery Index - The Killing Gods (Seasons of the Mist) ....

Baltimore's own Misery Index have released their fifth album titled The Killing Gods on May 27th. The band was formed in 2001 by by Jason Netherton on vocals and bass guitar. In a world overcrowded with poor sounding and repetitious death metal, Misery Index seem to carve out a niche for themselves as one of the better bands of the genre. WIth their latest release, it sounds like the band has found their groove and focus through a cacophony in arrangements of brutal blast beats, inspiring breakdowns, and melody. The first five songs are a highly theatrical collective work called "Faust". The digi-pak release of their new album contains a medley of Ministry's "Thieves" and "N.W.O." Misery Index have had a sound that is great and without need of alteration, but their album show a progression in their musical skills that fans of the band will likely embrace and enjoy.

Listen to Misery Index

Prong - Ruining Lives (Steamhammer/SPV) ....

Prong has returned with a new album Ruining Lives. The band broke big in the 90's delivering infamous songs like "Beg to Differ", "Snap Your Fingers, Snap Your Neck", and a new sound in music that inspired an entire genre of metal music. After three great albums released on Epic Records, the band was dropped and found their way to several small labels and mediocre album releases throughout the years. With their latest release Ruining Lives, Prong deliver nothing that will trump their glory days, but with decent songwriting and production the album is worthy of listen with some memorable songs, great riffs, and hooks. Notable songs are "Turnover", "Windows Shut", "Absence of Light", and "Chamber of Thought". There is no question Tommy Victor (vocals, guitars) is an icon in the history of metal music, not only for his work with Prong, but his involvement in helping out other metal bands throughtout the years.

Listen to Prong

Gojira - L'Enfant Sauvage (Roadrunner) ....

French metal maestros Gojira release their fifth album entitled L'Enfants Sauvage, an impressive work of musical mastery which explodes with ferocity and roars with intensity. The metal band hails from Ondres, close to Bayonne in the South West of France. The title track spans seven minutes taking the listener through a buildup to climax in a barrage of expertly timed arrangements. "Planned Obsolescence" is a brain bashing song that will thrash you with visions of being slammed in a pit. The four member iconic group Gojira have delivered one of the years best albums to date, proving they are one of the formidable forces in metal. Some may find this new release less brutal and skull splitting then their previous releases, but this seems just a progression of their maturity. Some of the notable songs are "Explosia", "Liquid Fire", "Pain Is A Master", and the ballad-like "Born in Winter".

Listen to Gojira

Site Designed by Web Solutions Network, a division of Maryland Wireless Networks. © 2008.